Hip Hop as a Movement Week


This is the keynote panel for the conference. You can see Jeff Chang, Wendy Day, Davey D and Chuck D. Marc Bamuthi Joseph is on the end of the table, but not in my mediocre photograph. Check out his site.

Prior to this panel, I got to moderate one on gender and sexuality in hip hop and hip hop studies with Dawn-Elissa Fischer, Bakari Kitwana, Mark Anthony Neal, and , Gaye Theresa Johnson. I got to do that because of a scheduling mix-up. Just call me MC Second Choice.

The crazy thing is that this post represents a small percentage of the talented people I got to check out. The week was fun, and left me feeling good, but with a letdown at the end. Now I’m back to my humdrum existence.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

